追蹤研究

1. 香港人身份與國家認同

1996年,馬傑偉與馮應謙開始進行關於香港人身份認同的追蹤研究,以捕捉香港人國民身份與本地身份認同的變化。目前為止,該研究進行了九次調查報告。該研究項目由兩個主要組成部分:一,對於國家和本地文化標記的情感回應;二,香港人對自身和對中國內地人的「身份認同的距離」。如1996年的調查問卷所顯示,香港人對於九七回歸有強烈不安。這種不安在2002年之後逐漸減弱,但近年來有回升趨勢。1996和2012年的調查結果吸引了媒介的關注,也激起了社會討論。

survey 瀏覽研究結果

2. 市民對傳媒公信力的評價

該項目的研究目的是評測香港新聞機構的公信力,並追蹤其歷時的變化。此研究亦是評估香港新聞業「健康」程度的一個重要標準。蘇鑰機教授是該項目的主要研究者,陳韜文教授亦有參與。

該項目主要以對香港市民進行的週期性的公共電話調查為研究數據。第一個調查於1997年展開,類似的調查隨後分別於2001、2006、2009、2010和2012年進行。此類調查設計了一系列的核心問題,讓公眾對各新聞機構(包括報紙和電子媒介)的表現作出1-10分的評分。公眾需要分別對本地主要的新聞機構以及整個新聞業的表現作出評價,從而得到每間機構以及整個新聞業的評分。

之前調查研究的結果顯示,香港市民對於傳媒公信力的認知有一個較為固定的模式。電子媒介的公信力往往被認為高於報紙媒介。在電子和報紙媒介內部也有排序。例如在電子媒介中,長年以來香港電台和香港電視廣播有限公司分列第一和第二。在眾多報紙中,《南華早報》和《明報》則是長期位於前兩位。

在近年的調查中,一些美國、英國、中國大陸的主要新聞機構也列入評價範圍,從而提供比較的基準。將來的研究可能會包括香港市民對於傳媒公信力這個概念的本質和特性的認識的問題。本項目歡迎其他地區學者參與合作,從而進行地區間傳媒公信力表現的比較。

類似的一系列關於傳媒公信力的問題亦在另一個關於香港記者的研究項目中有所涉及,這個項目自1990年以來每五年進行一次。研究發現公眾和記者對於各新聞機構的公信力的評價有很大差異。

以往的調查研究結果可見於報紙和專業雜誌,部分亦發表在一些學術會議及期刊中,研究成果亦被新聞界和其他社會機構所引用。

survey 瀏覽研究結果
tracking2

tracking3
3. 市民使用傳統傳媒及新傳媒之情況

自2006年,梁永熾教授在傳播與民意調查中心開始有關研究。有關研究每兩年觀察市民在使用傳統媒體及新媒體的變化。受訪者會被問及他們擁有新舊媒體用具的數量,新媒體用具的使用頻率,使用範圍及使用密度。除了追蹤媒體的使用外,每次研究亦會針對一個關於新型溝通科技對社會影響的特定題目。過去的研究題目包括:

2006: Internet embeddedness: Links with online health information seeking, expectancy value/quality of health information websites, and Internet usage patterns. CyberPsychology & Behavior, 11(5): 565-569.
2008: Effects of Internet connectedness and information literacy on quality of life. Social indicators Research, 98(2): 273 – 290.
2010: Generational differences in content generation in social media: The roles of the gratifications sought and of narcissism. Computers in Human Behavior, 29(3), 997-1006.
2012: Using tablet in solitude for stress reduction: An examination of desire for aloneness, leisure boredom, tablet activities, and location of use. Computers in Human Behavior, 48, 328-391.
2014:  Linking sensation seeking, multitasking, free time boredom, flow experience, and smartphone use to leisure satisfaction (coming soon)
survey 瀏覽研究結果

4. 市民對新聞自由及傳媒自我審查的認知

該項目是一個關於香港公眾對本地新聞自由現狀以及傳媒自我審查的認知的追蹤調查,項目始於2006年,調查每兩年進行一次。調查對像是能使用中文的香港成年的居民。調查的問題包括詢問調查對象,對香港新聞自由程度是否滿意,是否認為香港傳媒的各種實踐中存在自我審查,以及他們對於傳媒的角色和表現的認知。

tracking4

tracking5
5. 社交網絡與公民參與:中港台大學生比較研究

這項比較研究旨在瞭解香港、中國內地和台灣的大學生對社交媒體的使用和公民參與的關係。這個項目將會調查大學生的互聯網使用,社交媒體使用,社交媒體連接的特性,公民意識,公共事務知識,線上和線下公民參與。第一階段的項目已於2014年進行。


6. 企業傳播文化的比較研究

這項研究是國際合作研究項目「企業傳播文化比較」的一部份,項目參與方包括了澳大利亞、奧地利、德國、英國、印度尼西亞、以色列、新西蘭、瑞典和越南等國家。這項研究旨在探索文化和企業傳播之間的關係,以及回答以下問題:「當文化情境變化後,對於傳播管理會產生怎樣的後果?在對本地文化保持敏感的同時如何發展一個全球身份?在什麼程度上傳播策略需要調整?哪些公眾還沒有進入企業的視線?哪些資訊和管道在一個國家奏效,但在另一個國家無效?內部傳播是怎樣的?多國團隊怎麼能最好地處理問題?在一個國家被認為不符合倫理的傳播實踐,卻在另一個國家司空見慣?」

tracking6

line1

Tracking Studies

1. The Identity and National Identification of Hong Kong People

In 1996, Eric Ma and Anthony Fung started the “Hong Kong Identity” tracking study to capture the changes in the national and local identification of Hong Kong people. There are two major components: firstly, the emotional responses to national and local icons; and secondly, the “identity distance” between Hong Kong people’s perception of themselves and those living in mainland China. As indicated in the 1996 survey, Hong Kong people had a strong sense of unease towards national reintegration in 1997. These feelings had gradually subsided in the 2000s, but have re-emerged in recent years. The results of the survey in 1996 and 2012 caught the attention of the media and triggered social debates.

survey View survey result

2. Public Evaluation on Media Credibility

The purpose of this project is to measure the performance of Hong Kong news organizations in terms of their credibility, and track the changes over time. It is a major yardstick to gauge the “health” of the news industry in Hong Kong. The principle investigator is Clement So, and Joseph Chan is also involved in the project.

The study relies on periodic public telephone surveys of Hong Kong citizens. The first such survey was conducted in 1997. Subsequently similar surveys were done in 2001, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2012. The study uses a set of core questions asking the public to evaluate the performance of various news organizations by means of a score from 1 to 10. The news organizations include both newspapers and electronic media. Each and every major local news organization is evaluated by the public, as well as the overall performance of the news industry. This approach provides scores on both the individual organizations and the journalistic community as a whole.

Findings from previous surveys show that there is a stable pattern of media credibility as perceived by the Hong Kong public. Electronic media usually rank higher than the newspapers. There is also a pecking order within the electronic media, as well as within the newspapers. For example, among the electronic media, Radio-Television Hong Kong and HK-TVB have been ranked first and second respectively over the years. Among the many newspapers, South China Morning Post and Ming Pao Daily News have been the top two newspapers.

In recent surveys some major news organizations from the United States, the United Kingdom and Mainland China are also evaluated so as to provide benchmarks for comparison. Future surveys may include questions on the nature and characteristics of the concept of media credibility as perceived by the citizens in Hong Kong. Collaborations with scholars in other places are desirable so that media credibility performances can be compared.

Similar set of questions about media credibility is used in a separate project: the Hong Kong journalist survey which is done once every five years starting from 1990. It is found that the public and the journalists differ significantly in terms of their credibility evaluations of the various news organizations.

Findings of previous surveys have been reported in the newspapers and professional magazines. Some conference papers as well as journal articles were produced as a result. Results have been cited by the news community and other social organizations as well.

survey View survey result
tracking2

tracking3
3. Usage of Traditional and New Media

Started in the Centre for Communication and Public Opinion Survey by Professor Louis Leung in 2006, the media use tracking study was conducted to monitor the changes in the use of traditional and new media in Hong Kong households every two years. Respondents were asked about ownership of older and newer media technologies, usage patterns of traditional media, and scope and intensity of use of new media. In addition to the tracking of media use, each study also investigates a specific topic related to the social impact of new communication technology and society. Past projects included:

2006: Internet embeddedness: Links with online health information seeking, expectancy value/quality of health information websites, and Internet usage patterns. CyberPsychology & Behavior, 11(5): 565-569.
2008: Effects of Internet connectedness and information literacy on quality of life. Social indicators Research, 98(2): 273 – 290.
2010: Generational differences in content generation in social media: The roles of the gratifications sought and of narcissism. Computers in Human Behavior, 29(3), 997-1006.
2012: Using tablet in solitude for stress reduction: An examination of desire for aloneness, leisure boredom, tablet activities, and location of use. Computers in Human Behavior, 48, 328-391.
2014:  Linking sensation seeking, multitasking, free time boredom, flow experience, and smartphone use to leisure satisfaction (coming soon)
survey View survey result

4. Public Perceptions on Press Freedom and Media Self-censorship

Conducted every two years since 2006, this tracking study aims at registering the Hong Kong public’s perception of the status of press freedom in the city and the seriousness of the media self-censorship. The respondents are constituted by adult Chinese speaking Hong Kong residents. The survey includes questions that ask about satisfactory level of the respondents to the degree of press freedom in Hong Kong, and whether they regarded various specific practices of media self-censorship as existent or not, and their belief on media roles and performance.

tracking4

tracking5
5. Comparative Research on Social Media and Civic Engagement among University Students in Greater China

This comparative study aims at understanding the relationship between university students’ social media usage and civic engagement in Hong Kong, China, and Taiwan. The survey will examine university students’ general internet use, social media use, characteristics of social media connections, civic awareness, public affairs knowledge, and online and offline civic engagement. The first wave of the study has been conducted in 2014.


6. Comparing Corporate Communication Cultures

This study is situated in an internationally collaborative research project, “Comparing Corporate Communication Cultures,” which includes participating countries from Australia, Austria, Germany, Great Britain, Indonesia, Israel, New Zealand, Switzerland and Vietnam and so on. This collaborative study aims to explore the links between culture and corporate communication and answer the following questions: “What are the consequences for communication management, when the cultural context alters? How can a global identity be developed while nevertheless remaining sensitive towards local cultures? To what degree do communication strategies need to be adjusted? Which publics are not yet on the corporate radar? Which messages and channels work in one country, but not in another? What about internal communication? How are multinational teams best dealt with? And what about communication practices that are perceived as unethical in one country, but are common business standard in another?”

tracking6

line1